AMTA-KY CHAPTER

2015 Spring Conference Recap...and it was EXTRAORDINARY!

by: Valerie Smothers, AMTA-KY 1st Vice President

AMTA-KY offered its 9th Annual Spring Education Event at the Clarion Hotel in Lexington, Kentucky on April 10-12, 2015. Roughly 230 massage therapists, instructors, students and volunteers gathered to "Be Extraordinary", which was this year's theme.

Classes offered by the AMTA-KY Chapter were fought over because our lineup of instructors couldn't be beat! Bruce Baltz, James Waslaski, Pete Whitridge, Tracy Barnes, Tom & Sue Hansen, David Otto & Nathan Nordstrom each brought their "A" game to instruct us in new ways. They demonstrated their grasp of their chosen technique, shared their knowledge & allowed us to take a glimpse of new possibilities in bodywork and business.

Sanctuary was held again, \$390 in proceeds were raised to benefit AMTA-KY's lobbying efforts. As a service to our members, a Consignment Shop for gently used massage related items was also a great hit. The Vendor Hall was busy, with a total of 17 vendors this year! It's always nice to not pay shipping. Thank you to all of our Vendors and Donors. (See a complete list of Our Vendors and Donors on the first page of this newsletter)

To support the Massage Therapy Foundations efforts to bring awareness to the benefits of massage and massage research funding, a post-conference by James Waslaski was offered with the chapter portion of the proceeds going to the Massage Therapy Foundation. A total of \$2273.00 was raised.

Another opportunity to support the work of the Massage Therapy Foundation, a silent auction was conducted to support the fundraising efforts of AMTA members John Combe and Nathan Nordstrom, who are a part of Team Massage Therapy Foundation - Running for Research. John and Nathan promoted the MTF and their shared commitment to research on the benefits of massage therapy. A total of \$1183.00 was raised.

Newly elected AMTA-KY Board members and a Delegate were sworn into office. Congratulations to Valerie Smothers - 1st Vice President, Karen Tyson - 3rd Vice President and Collette Wilson - Delegate.