

FOUNDERS

Hon. Paul Simon Hon. Bob Kustra

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Hon. Suzie Bassi
Kristina Cercone

Hon. Beth Coulson, Vice-Chair
Hon. Susan Garrett, Chair
Oren Jacobson
Carl Johnson
Michelle Jordan
Jin Lee
Hon. John J. Millner
Hon. David Orr
Evan C. Palenschat
Dana J. Pownall
Vanessa B.M. Vergara
Stephanie A. Victor

Diana Villamil Zuver, Secretary

November 18, 2015

Hon. Bruce Rauner, Governor State of Illinois James R. Thompson Center 100 W. Randolph, 16-100 Chicago, IL 60601

Dear Governor Rauner:

Thank you for circulating your November 13th letter regarding the upcoming budget meeting, now scheduled for December 1st. We continue to be hopeful that this meeting will lead to a meaningful budget framework accepted by all parties – one that will provide a springboard to finding a solution to the ongoing impasse.

Illinois needs and deserves an immediate budget resolution for many reasons, most importantly to provide fiscal certainty to millions of individuals, families, businesses, municipalities, and organizations that provide much needed services. Without a budget resolution, Illinois will lose even more credibility nationwide. We cannot afford another week or month without a clear solution in sight.

We write today to respectfully express our reservations with your plan to devote the first hour of the meeting to individual commentaries from the leaders and yourself "on the issues about which they feel most passionately."

Instead, given the urgency of the situation, we encourage you to dispense with the hour of individual statements and proceed directly to a public and open discussion of the various comprehensive bipartisan budget proposals that have been recently released. We believe this approach will enable all participants to collectively discuss their priorities on critical budget issues and lead to a more productive meeting.

We believe this discussion has the potential to generate a path to resolving the ongoing budget stalemate. Like many across the state, our expectations and hopes are high.

Sincerely,

Hon. Susan Garrett Mary Kubasak

Board Chair, ICPR President, League of Women Voters of Illinois

Hoy McConnell Maryam Judar

Executive Director, BPI Executive Director, Citizen Advocacy Center

Abe Scarr George Ranney

Director, Illinois PIRG Chair, CHANGE Illinois

CC: Hon. Michael Madigan, Hon. Jim Durkin, Hon. John Cullerton, Hon. Christine Radogno